Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Laithwaites Wine Roche Lacour Crémant 2009

We have offered this exemplary wine for over two decades now and the multitude of awards over the years - and the 5-star reviews - speak volumes. It is our bestselling sparkler by a mile. Roche Lacour winemaker Laurent Mingaud works his magic beneath the cool hills of Limoux. Here, the monks of Saint Hilaire are said to have mastered sparkling wine methods in 1531, centuries ahead of Dom Pérignon. Bottles back then were fragile and didn't travel, so their success remained a secret. The cuvée's key grape is Chardonnay - like Blanc de Blancs Champagne - with the balance comprising bright, lemony Chenin Blanc and the native sherbety Mauzac, all from the highest vineyards to ensure the most delicious freshness. Enjoy on its own or with canapés.
Average Customer Rating:
4.595 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
38 out of 41(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Roche Lacour Crémant 2009
Review 1 for Roche Lacour Crémant 2009
This review is for Roche Lacour Crémant 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fluffybunny
, from Hertfordshire
(13 September 2014)
Wonderful sparkling wine
We have been buying this for years, use as champagne, visiting friends adore it, always have some on hand, can't recommend it more highly.
Review 2 for Roche Lacour Crémant 2009
This review is for Roche Lacour Crémant 2011.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pringle
, from Warwickshire
(08 August 2014)
Lacking in character
I have enjoyed Cremant's before but this case was lacking in flavour and in a blind tasting against other sparklers faired very badly, ended up being used for cocktails and Royal Kirs.
Review 3 for Roche Lacour Crémant 2009
This review is for Roche Lacour Crémant 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sherpa
, from London
(30 July 2014)
Why pay more for Champagne when this excellent Loire wine, Methode Champenoise, provides a satisfying alternative
Review 4 for Roche Lacour Crémant 2009
This review is for Roche Lacour Crémant 2011.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Stuee
, from London
(22 July 2014)
Lovely sparkler
I've had a few bottles of this now and it's never failed to please. Great value, full of taste and definitely recommended as a day-to-day sparkling wine.
Review 5 for Roche Lacour Crémant 2009
This review is for Roche Lacour Crémant 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Phoebe
, from Isle of Man
(16 July 2014)
Brilliant
I have ordered this multiple times and always like to have a bottle or two ready in the fridge. I much prefer this to most champagne and everyone thinks they are drinking something far more expensive.Light,bubbly and full of flavour, it's cheaper than some bottles of Cava and Prosecco that can be bought in the supermarket and so much nicer.
Review 6 for Roche Lacour Crémant 2009
This review is for Roche Lacour Crémant 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hoofprint
, from Suffolk
(11 July 2014)
Brilliant Cremant
The discerning French I have met say they prefer Crémant to Champagne. Why? Because it is better and cheaper, in my opinion this Roche Lacour is a perfect example of what they mean. I recommend you buy some immediately!
Review 7 for Roche Lacour Crémant 2009
This review is for Roche Lacour Crémant 2011.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Winewill
, from Chester
(07 July 2014)
Delightful Lacour
This is a great buy for any lover of bubbles. Unlike many other bottles of fizz, this cremant offers a soft fine mousse, without a gaseous effect. In addition, you'll find some of those classy biscuity undertones enjoyed in some other, significantly more expensive, bottles of sparkling wine.
Review 8 for Roche Lacour Crémant 2009
This review is for Roche Lacour Crémant 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Slick
, from Bedfordshire
(22 June 2014)
Brilliant Champagne Substitute
A really classy substitute for Champagne. Perfect for parties.
Review 9 for Roche Lacour Crémant 2009
This review is for Roche Lacour Crémant 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
, from Argyll
(24 May 2014)
For happy times
We are longterm fans of this wine. Having discovered and enjoyed it, we bought quite a lot (well, maybe more than that) 15 years ago for our daughter's wedding and everyone loved it. Why would you buy Cava or Prosecco when you could have this?
Review 10 for Roche Lacour Crémant 2009
This review is for Roche Lacour Crémant 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
samba
, from West Midlands
(21 May 2014)
Better than some "Champagne's"
We give this to our wedding car couples, nearly all finish the bottle, depending on the journey time, all comment that "that was nice"
So I say it's "Wonderful Value"
Review 11 for Roche Lacour Crémant 2009
This review is for Roche Lacour Crémant 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Culy30
, from Hereford
(02 May 2014)
Simply Gorgeous
Almondy Champagne like fizz that would fool all but the most discerning. I just love it. At this price you could bathe in it!
Review 12 for Roche Lacour Crémant 2009
This review is for Roche Lacour Crémant 2007.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Devongooner
, from Devon
(01 May 2014)
Always impresses
I don't buy many bottles of this, reserving it for special occasions, but it always goes down well. i did take a bottle to work to celebrate the birth of my Head of Department's son and my colleagues thought I had treated them to a very expensive bottle of bubbly. I'm too honest, I owned up! A lovely sparkling wine for a very reasonable price.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Roche Lacour Crémant 2009
This review is for Roche Lacour Crémant 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brooksby
, from Wallington, Surrey
(29 April 2014)
An Excellent Alternative
French Cremants compete well with champagne. This one is good and ideal for sharing. Lovely soft flavour and not as 'heavy' as some champagnes.
Review 14 for Roche Lacour Crémant 2009
This review is for Roche Lacour Crémant 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Geraint
, from London
(21 March 2014)
Beats many Chapagnes
I would rather drink this than many Champagnes. Light, delicate full of flavour. Do not hesitate to buy this.
Review 15 for Roche Lacour Crémant 2009
This review is for Roche Lacour Crémant 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
b19frw
, from scotland
(06 February 2014)
Better than Champagne
Haven't had it for a few years but as good as ever. Best fizz for under a tenner you can buy.
Review 16 for Roche Lacour Crémant 2009
This review is for Roche Lacour Crémant 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ayla
, from Dundee
(25 January 2014)
Excellent fizz for the price
Tasted this at a friends house and loved it. Not disappointed when I received my own supply! Excellent fizz at a great price.
Review 17 for Roche Lacour Crémant 2009
This review is for Roche Lacour Crémant 2011.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sasp
, from UK
(14 November 2013)
Party popper
Roche Lacour is an abiding crémant choice that regularly out-performs cheap champagnes. Presentation in a stylish bottle promises quality and makes this cuvée classy as a celebration toast or Christmas gift. This 2011 lives up to its pedigree. The pinot noir gives a pleasant amber tinge and thousands of tiny bubbles tingle on the tongue. It is round and biscuity to complement canapés and seafood, yet still crisp and dry enough to make a good party apéritif and, at around £10, it's good enough value to cheer to host.
Review 18 for Roche Lacour Crémant 2009
This review is for Roche Lacour Crémant 2010.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
vinocolapso
, from Biggleswade
(11 July 2013)
Not for me
I really looked forward to trying this wine after all the reviews I'd read but it just isn't to my taste, far too dry and not for me.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Laithwaite's Wine:By lisacss12 July 2013
We are sorry to hear you did not like this wine. I can see that one of our advisors has spoken to you today and I hope they have resolved this matter to your satisfaction.
Review 19 for Roche Lacour Crémant 2009
This review is for Roche Lacour Crémant 2010.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bigphil
, from wakefield
(16 April 2013)
Lovely
A lovely wine . a lot nicer than a lot of champagnes and a lot nicer price. will buy again
Review 20 for Roche Lacour Crémant 2009
This review is for Roche Lacour Crémant 2010.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nessa
, from wakefield
(25 March 2013)
superb
This is a lovely wine and a genuine alternative to champagne. In fact it's nicer than a lot of mid range champagne. Can not recommend enough.
1 2 next>>