Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Laithwaites Wine Roche Lacour Crémant 2009

We have offered this exemplary wine for over two decades now and the multitude of awards over the years - and the 5-star reviews - speak volumes. It is our bestselling sparkler by a mile. Roche Lacour winemaker Laurent Mingaud works his magic beneath the cool hills of Limoux. Here, the monks of Saint Hilaire are said to have mastered sparkling wine methods in 1531, centuries ahead of Dom Pérignon. Bottles back then were fragile and didn't travel, so their success remained a secret. The cuvée's key grape is Chardonnay - like Blanc de Blancs Champagne - with the balance comprising bright, lemony Chenin Blanc and the native sherbety Mauzac, all from the highest vineyards to ensure the most delicious freshness. Enjoy on its own or with canapés.
Average Customer Rating:
4.612 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
13
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
43 out of 46(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Roche Lacour Crémant 2009
Review 1 for Roche Lacour Crémant 2009
This review is for Roche Lacour 2012.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mostlyred
, from Southeast
(27 November 2014)
Excellent value, great taste
This is my go to sparkling wine, need I say more!
Crisp champagne style is very impressive
Review 2 for Roche Lacour Crémant 2009
This review is for Roche Lacour 2012.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dodders
, from cornwall
(25 November 2014)
Absolutely delicious
I love it and can't wait to run out so I can order some more!
Review 3 for Roche Lacour Crémant 2009
This review is for Roche Lacour Crémant 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jaygee
(21 November 2014)
Best value fizz
Superb as always,nothing can touch it at this pricing level
Review 4 for Roche Lacour Crémant 2009
This review is for Roche Lacour 2012.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
peteypie
, from york
(21 November 2014)
better than most champagne
This was bought instead of the usual prosecco as a celebratory fizz. I buy and drink a lot of fine champagnes and this compares extremely well with the likes of bollinger and moet. It is refreshingly crisp dry and has very fine bubbles which last a long time. It is smooth and biscuity which I have only usually found in much more expensive fizz. A really cheap alternative to high end champagne perfect for Christmas or on its own!
Review 5 for Roche Lacour Crémant 2009
This review is for Roche Lacour 2012.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hitsuji
, from London
(17 November 2014)
Dependable
This is a bubbly which we can always depend upon. Pleasant and festive, a fantastic substitute for over-priced bubbly.
Review 6 for Roche Lacour Crémant 2009
This review is for Roche Lacour 2012.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sasp
, from UK
(10 November 2014)
Old Reliable
Dressed in a festive bottle, this crémant de Limoux invites a celebration. Opening with a plosive pop, the bubbles are effervescent to the point of forming a head of foam. All of the classic flavours are there, making this perfect as an apéritif and with smoked salmon. The fizz dissipates rather quickly, however, leaving it tasting rather flat (though I suspect it won't often get chance to do so). Nonetheless, at just over £10 (for now), this vintage is a perfect bottle to lubricate a party or to celebrate Shampers Saturdays with Strictly.
Review 7 for Roche Lacour Crémant 2009
This review is for Roche Lacour Crémant 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fluffybunny
, from Hertfordshire
(13 September 2014)
Wonderful sparkling wine
We have been buying this for years, use as champagne, visiting friends adore it, always have some on hand, can't recommend it more highly.
Review 8 for Roche Lacour Crémant 2009
This review is for Roche Lacour Crémant 2011.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pringle
, from Warwickshire
(08 August 2014)
Lacking in character
I have enjoyed Cremant's before but this case was lacking in flavour and in a blind tasting against other sparklers faired very badly, ended up being used for cocktails and Royal Kirs.
Review 9 for Roche Lacour Crémant 2009
This review is for Roche Lacour Crémant 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sherpa
, from London
(30 July 2014)
Why pay more for Champagne when this excellent Loire wine, Methode Champenoise, provides a satisfying alternative
Review 10 for Roche Lacour Crémant 2009
This review is for Roche Lacour Crémant 2011.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Stuee
, from London
(22 July 2014)
Lovely sparkler
I've had a few bottles of this now and it's never failed to please. Great value, full of taste and definitely recommended as a day-to-day sparkling wine.
Review 11 for Roche Lacour Crémant 2009
This review is for Roche Lacour Crémant 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Phoebe
, from Isle of Man
(16 July 2014)
Brilliant
I have ordered this multiple times and always like to have a bottle or two ready in the fridge. I much prefer this to most champagne and everyone thinks they are drinking something far more expensive.Light,bubbly and full of flavour, it's cheaper than some bottles of Cava and Prosecco that can be bought in the supermarket and so much nicer.
Review 12 for Roche Lacour Crémant 2009
This review is for Roche Lacour Crémant 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hoofprint
, from Suffolk
(11 July 2014)
Brilliant Cremant
The discerning French I have met say they prefer Crémant to Champagne. Why? Because it is better and cheaper, in my opinion this Roche Lacour is a perfect example of what they mean. I recommend you buy some immediately!
Review 13 for Roche Lacour Crémant 2009
This review is for Roche Lacour Crémant 2011.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Winewill
, from Chester
(07 July 2014)
Delightful Lacour
This is a great buy for any lover of bubbles. Unlike many other bottles of fizz, this cremant offers a soft fine mousse, without a gaseous effect. In addition, you'll find some of those classy biscuity undertones enjoyed in some other, significantly more expensive, bottles of sparkling wine.
Review 14 for Roche Lacour Crémant 2009
This review is for Roche Lacour Crémant 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Slick
, from Bedfordshire
(22 June 2014)
Brilliant Champagne Substitute
A really classy substitute for Champagne. Perfect for parties.
Review 15 for Roche Lacour Crémant 2009
This review is for Roche Lacour Crémant 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
, from Argyll
(24 May 2014)
For happy times
We are longterm fans of this wine. Having discovered and enjoyed it, we bought quite a lot (well, maybe more than that) 15 years ago for our daughter's wedding and everyone loved it. Why would you buy Cava or Prosecco when you could have this?
Review 16 for Roche Lacour Crémant 2009
This review is for Roche Lacour Crémant 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
samba
, from West Midlands
(21 May 2014)
Better than some "Champagne's"
We give this to our wedding car couples, nearly all finish the bottle, depending on the journey time, all comment that "that was nice"
So I say it's "Wonderful Value"
Review 17 for Roche Lacour Crémant 2009
This review is for Roche Lacour Crémant 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Culy30
, from Hereford
(02 May 2014)
Simply Gorgeous
Almondy Champagne like fizz that would fool all but the most discerning. I just love it. At this price you could bathe in it!
Review 18 for Roche Lacour Crémant 2009
This review is for Roche Lacour Crémant 2007.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Devongooner
, from Devon
(01 May 2014)
Always impresses
I don't buy many bottles of this, reserving it for special occasions, but it always goes down well. i did take a bottle to work to celebrate the birth of my Head of Department's son and my colleagues thought I had treated them to a very expensive bottle of bubbly. I'm too honest, I owned up! A lovely sparkling wine for a very reasonable price.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Roche Lacour Crémant 2009
This review is for Roche Lacour Crémant 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brooksby
, from Wallington, Surrey
(29 April 2014)
An Excellent Alternative
French Cremants compete well with champagne. This one is good and ideal for sharing. Lovely soft flavour and not as 'heavy' as some champagnes.
Review 20 for Roche Lacour Crémant 2009
This review is for Roche Lacour Crémant 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Geraint
, from London
(21 March 2014)
Beats many Chapagnes
I would rather drink this than many Champagnes. Light, delicate full of flavour. Do not hesitate to buy this.
1 2 3 next>>