Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Laithwaites Wine Limited Release Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2011

Dr Tony Jordan is one of the big names in Australian and New Zealand wine and is revered the world over as a consultant. We've worked with him for years and when he occasionally comes to us with an amazing deal - usually on a very limited parcel of fine wine - we know it's absolutely top end stuff. Always. The winery behind this Limited Release had a little surplus Sauvignon that it was happy to sell at a discount to clear space for the next vintage. But at this price it understandably didn't want its premium name mentioned.This is clearly a fine wine, displaying vibrant notes of guava and passionfruit plus zesty gooseberry and citrus notes. Worth saving for a special dinner. Serve chilled with a seafood salad or grilled swordfish.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 out of 20(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Limited Release Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2011
Review 1 for Limited Release Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2011
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mini
, from Leicester
(29 October 2014)
Great Taste
This is a really nice Wine , Not too sharp, goes down a treat
Review 2 for Limited Release Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2011
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Molineux
, from London
(08 July 2013)
Wonderful Sauvignon Blanc
Why buy a bottle of Cloudy Bay for £28 when you can get this for so much less.
Review 3 for Limited Release Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2011
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
, from London
(20 July 2012)
Absolutely beautiful Sauvignon Blanc
I agree with Jim - given a blind tasting I don't think I could distinguish this fabulous wine from Cloudy Bay. Wonderful fresh fruity bouquet and the greatest pleasure to drink. If only such a wine was always available at this price - admittedly more than I would normally pay but worth every penny!
Review 4 for Limited Release Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2011
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jim1974
, from Horsham
(30 June 2012)
Superb!
This is a dead ringer for Cloudy Bay. My guess is that is what it is! Some reviewers don't like it but seem to like Cloudy Bay. I don't get it. As far as I can tell this is Cloudy Bay. This is a wonderful minerally and complex Marlborough SB. It will benefit from another year in the battle before drinking to strengthen the flavours, but it is superb.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Limited Release Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2011
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
441Bubbles
, from Lichfield
(30 May 2012)
To Show Off
More than I would pay for a non special occasion wine but wonderful buttery taste and great aroma - Would buy again
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Limited Release Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2011
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Accipiter
, from Glos.
(02 May 2012)
Great Wine
Not the cheapest, and more than I normally pay, but of all the Sauvignons I've tasted lately this stands out as by far the best. Really beautiful wine.
I will definitely consider buying some more if stocks last.
Review 7 for Limited Release Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2011
This review is for Limited Release Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2010.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
StolenTime
, from Home Counties
(14 April 2011)
Better with food than on its own
On first taste, my wife did not like this wine - it has a gooseberry/ lemony taste that is tart enough to make you pucker your mouth a bit. I liked it more than she did so we persevered, and decided we actually quite liked it with the meal - hamburger rather than chicken I think.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Limited Release Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2011
This review is for Limited Release Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2010.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JIMBOB
, from ESSEX
(11 November 2010)
EXCELLENT QUALITY
AN EXCELLENT WHITE WINE THAT REMINDED US OF THE FAMOUS CLOUDY BAY / ESK VALLEY WINES OF NEW ZEALAND. IT WAS HARD TO TASTE THE DIFFERENCE !
Review 9 for Limited Release Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2011
This review is for Limited Release Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2010.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Howwood
, from Chesham
(09 November 2010)
Fantastic wine
Intense floral taste. One of the nicest white wines I've ever tasted.
Review 10 for Limited Release Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2011
This review is for Limited Release Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2010.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GreggoBlueNose
, from Rural Essex
(09 November 2010)
Super NZ Sauvignon Blanc
A young, fresh, zesty and refreshing wine. So glad I ordered it. Ideal to drink by itself and great companion for Sea Food.
Review 11 for Limited Release Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2011
This review is for Limited Release Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2010.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BLACKHAWK
, from STEVENAGE HERTS
(04 November 2010)
EXCELLENT WINE,GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY
This customer did not provide a text review.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Limited Release Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2011
This review is for Limited Release Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2010.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beatrice
, from Lincoln
(28 October 2010)
Limited Release Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2010
An absolute treat!!! Very elegant. Excellent value. Buy, buy, buy before they sell out!
Review 13 for Limited Release Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2011
This review is for Limited Release Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2009.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
larman
, from colchester
(26 March 2010)
outstanding
Quite possibly one of the best whites i have ever tasted, for quality the intense fruit flavours hit the palate as soon as you sip, beautiful tropical fruit and incredible for the price, an amazing wine!
Review 14 for Limited Release Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2011
This review is for Limited Release Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2009.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
IrishRover
, from Southampton
(21 March 2010)
What is it?
Great value for a Marlborough wine - but still wondering what it is!
Review 15 for Limited Release Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2011
This review is for Limited Release Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2009.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MrAAY
, from Glasgow
(19 March 2010)
Superb Sauv. Blanc
This is a very good wine. It's worth every penny and is worth spending the extra versus other decent Sauv.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Limited Release Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2011
Based on the average of (5) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 5 out of 5