Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Laithwaites Wine Il Papavero Pinot Grigio 2011

Pinot Grigio has stormed the charts in recent years all over the globe. There's no shortage of it - but truly outstanding examples are rare. What sets the talented Scipione apart from his winemaking peers is his skilful dedication to tracking down the finest parcels of fruit throughout Italy. So when he came across a plot of high grown Sicilian Pinot Grigio, another star was born. It's mouthwatering stuff - a moreish mix of rich pear and citrus flavours. It has full ripeness paired with bracing freshness thanks to Sicily's high altitude vineyards and coastal sea breezes. These are the perfect grape growing conditions for which the island is becoming famous. Serve with white meats or a plate of chilled prawns.
Average Customer Rating:
4.116 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
17
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
1
36 out of 43(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Il Papavero Pinot Grigio 2011
Review 1 for Il Papavero Pinot Grigio 2011
This review is for Il Papavero Pinot Grigio 2013.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
teapot54
, from East Renfrewshire
(18 November 2014)
A lovely wine
Crisp and dry. I would recommend this wine and will definitely buy again.
Review 2 for Il Papavero Pinot Grigio 2011
This review is for Il Papavero Pinot Grigio (half bottle) 2013.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
canarys
, from norwich
(14 November 2014)
very refreshing light and tasty zesty and crisp very nice with chicken or fish .
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 3 for Il Papavero Pinot Grigio 2011
This review is for Il Papavero Pinot Grigio 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
asfox
, from Oxfordshire
(09 November 2014)
very good
We enjoyed this wine. Not bone dry I think it's accurately a 2, be interesting how it is as we drink the second half tomorrow. Needs to be well chilled.
Review 4 for Il Papavero Pinot Grigio 2011
This review is for Il Papavero Pinot Grigio 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
xanderd
, from Bucks
(25 October 2014)
A Pinot Grigio to convert you
I don't usually like p.Grigio, but this converted me - bone dry, well balanced juicy acidity and lemon sherbert notes - a great refreshing wine that doesn't need food.
Review 5 for Il Papavero Pinot Grigio 2011
This review is for Il Papavero Pinot Grigio 2013.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
laurute
, from poole
(09 October 2014)
to vinegery
sorry didnt enjoyed at all was very flabby and vinegery
Response from Laithwaite's Wine:By SarahCustomer Service11 October 2014
I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy this wine. I have responded via email to your review. I do hope that you are enjoying the rest of your selection.
Review 6 for Il Papavero Pinot Grigio 2011
This review is for Il Papavero Pinot Grigio 2013.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
huntlyhammie
, from Scotland
(30 September 2014)
Top Pinot Grigio
Beautiful wine one off the best pinot grigios i have ever tasted
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Il Papavero Pinot Grigio 2011
This review is for Il Papavero Pinot Grigio 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
VickyP
, from Weymouth
(06 September 2014)
I don't usually drink Pinot....... I am quite fussy with my wine and see this as a cheap product...... It was actually surprisingly smooth and enjoyable!
Review 8 for Il Papavero Pinot Grigio 2011
This review is for Il Papavero Pinot Grigio 2013.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
letitia
, from Yorkshire
(22 May 2014)
Just the best
This is quite the best Pinot Grigio, not too dry just a lovely balanced taste. This beats every other one I have tasted which is credit indeed.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Il Papavero Pinot Grigio 2011
This review is for Il Papavero Pinot Grigio 2013.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
VinoCollapso70
, from Ballycacstle
(03 March 2014)
Easy White
Crisp white was excellent with a freshly caught trout.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 10 for Il Papavero Pinot Grigio 2011
This review is for Il Papavero Pinot Grigio 2012.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sparkieb
, from Yorkshire
(24 December 2013)
Wonderful
I was tempted to leave no feedback but that seemed mean, so i will tell the truth, this wine is wonderful. i just hope they have plenty as im about to order more.
Review 11 for Il Papavero Pinot Grigio 2011
This review is for Il Papavero Pinot Grigio Half Bottle 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
elorac
, from Berkshire
(17 January 2013)
Superb!
I'm not much of a white wine drinker as usually I find it too acidic. Occasionally however, I stumble upon one that is very obviously....a TOP NOTCH white wine....this is one such wine. Will definitely be buying again and recommending to everyone!
Review 12 for Il Papavero Pinot Grigio 2011
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RockinD
, from Nelson
(18 June 2012)
Will be buying this wine regularly.
Very soft and smooth.
Came free with order. Demonstrates that the practice of giving free bottles is a very astute marketing tool. Will Be a regular buyer of this wine
Review 13 for Il Papavero Pinot Grigio 2011
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
TyroneGeordie
, from Omagh
(25 May 2012)
Free Bottle received with Order
An average Pinot Grigio which is a grape i find missing Zest. But did improve a bit on the second day (unusual for me , normally otherway around )
However as this was a free bottle with an order i cant really complain about it. Easily drunk on a hot summers day , not bad for free
Review 14 for Il Papavero Pinot Grigio 2011
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
datty
, from Wiltshire
(11 May 2012)
Wonderful Suprise
I open this bottle with the intention of drinking one or two glasses, but was so wonderfully suprised at the soft fruity taste that I ended up drinking the whole bottle.
Review 15 for Il Papavero Pinot Grigio 2011
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ladyHB2
, from staffordshire
(01 May 2012)
Surprising good
We tried this and were surprised at how much we enjoyed it.
I rate this above any Pinot you may buy in a supermarket. Once tried you will be back for more!!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Il Papavero Pinot Grigio 2011
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
, from Southampton
(23 April 2012)
Pleasantly surprised!
Tthis was really good - crisp, lovely colour and comfortably better than your "middle of the road" Supermarket Pinot Grigio. With a meal or just a chilled glass, whilst sat in the sunshine, it works!
Review 17 for Il Papavero Pinot Grigio 2011
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boysie36
, from Reading
(23 February 2012)
Really refreshing!
Didn't think I liked Pinot Grigio - but I love this. Fab!
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Il Papavero Pinot Grigio 2011
This review is for Il Papavero Pinot Grigio 2010.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Marty41
, from Yeovil
(18 February 2012)
Surprisingly Good
As we are not Pinot Grigio fans this was surprisingly impressive and has turned our opinion on its head, will definately be ordering more!
Review 19 for Il Papavero Pinot Grigio 2011
This review is for Il Papavero Pinot Grigio 2010.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
digbyt
, from glasgow
(07 February 2012)
Il Papavero pinot grigio
fantastic wine almost Gavi like quality and dryness well worth the extra cost compared to other pinots
Review 20 for Il Papavero Pinot Grigio 2011
This review is for Il Papavero Pinot Grigio 2010.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
StolenTime
, from Home Counties
(05 December 2011)
This is a good white wine, though I have to say my wife likes it more than I do...
It has a lingering citrus taste, with perhaps an element of gooseberry; good with white meat.
1 2 next>>