Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Laithwaites Wine El Campeador Reserva 2008

Tim Atkin wrote: "Jumilla gets my vote as the most underrated wine region in Europe. This large region has some of the oldest and most concentrated Monastrell in Spain, producing full bodied reds that are just as good as most Bandols, and sell at half the price" (The Observer). Its vineyards, olive groves and orchards stretch over a rolling plateau, surrounded by mountains that provide a dramatic backdrop.If you're already a fan of El Campeador, you're sure to love this silky smooth Reserva edition, patiently matured for two years in French and American oak barrels. The wine has been named after local hero El Cid - also known as El Campeador or "the champion". Enjoy with grilled lamb chops, spaghetti with meatballs or a hearty beef stew.
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
14 out of 15(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for El Campeador Reserva 2008
Review 1 for El Campeador Reserva 2008
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jasp
, Island
(July 26, 2014)
Hearty Red
Packs a punch, if you like big reds this is for you. A step up from it's little sister.
Review 2 for El Campeador Reserva 2008
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nyack
, Mansfield
(April 19, 2014)
Stunning
Smooth, full bodied, has a knock out punch of dark black fruit with a hint of vanilla on the palate and nose. If you have not tried this wine I feel sorry for you it is outstanding and not to be missed.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 3 for El Campeador Reserva 2008
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shatsome
, Aberdeenshire
(March 15, 2014)
Great!
I entirely agree with Brad2523, but from the other direction! I really enjoyed this wine, 4 and a half stars would be given if possible. Drank on its own but would be great with a hearty stew, or maybe some quail and chocolate sauce. Full bodied, fat flavour with hints of black cherry, vanilla and almond, delicious.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 4 for El Campeador Reserva 2008
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PandS
, Winchester
(January 27, 2014)
Smooth
A lovely smooth rich red. I shall definitely buy some more of this.
Review 5 for El Campeador Reserva 2008
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TonyDrinksRed
, Dorset
(January 1, 2014)
Does what it says on the Bottle
It is a very big and bold wine, as you can see if this isn't usually to your liking I wouldn't recommend it.
However as a fan of this style, I wouldn't hesitate to offer it my full recommendation.
Review 6 for El Campeador Reserva 2008
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kacout
, Dunfermline
(December 8, 2013)
Excellent Shiraz in disguise?
In a blind tasting my wife actually thought this was a Shiraz due to it's spicy after notes, fruitiness and full body! It is even better after decanting for 2 hours. We had it with pork, but it would go with a practically anything.
Review 7 for El Campeador Reserva 2008
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dali
, UK
(December 7, 2013)
Excellent
Loved this. Punchy full bodied but very fruity too.
Review 8 for El Campeador Reserva 2008
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Brad2523
, Cambridge
(December 1, 2013)
Not so sure
Trying not to be too harsh with the rating as there is nothing wrong with this wine other than it is not at all to my taste. It's got bold flavours and it immediately reminded me of 'The Chocolatier' (another wine I didn't get on with!) - I have recommended it though as if you like this I think you would like the chocolatier too.
I can see the appeal, it's almost like drinking a thin port. If that's how you like your wine, then you'll rave about it, if not then then maybe give it a miss...
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Response from Laithwaite's Wine:By AnnalieCustomer ServicesDecember 2, 2013
I am sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the wine, I do hope the action we have taken is satisfactory.
Review 9 for El Campeador Reserva 2008
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Geordiefinewine1
, Newcastle
(October 4, 2013)
YES! YES! YES!
YES! Unfair blind taste #2 and the french claret drinkers are @ it again:
"So smooth, from SPAIN? How MUCH!"
YES! Now this is what I call easy drinking! A powerful punch that has no after taste and leaves you reaching to re-fill. Put away your wine glass and find yourself a shot glass. A little and often.
YES! If you are a Spanish wine drinker @ LW and you have not tried this yet. You are missing out.
Review 10 for El Campeador Reserva 2008
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2010themen
, manchester
(July 27, 2013)
stunningk
I didn't think The El Campeador could be surpassed, but this reserva does just that. It's gorgeous, quaffable, smooth and almost too easy to drink. At 8.99 a bottle it beats some bottles i've paid over £20 in the past...if I could afford it I would have a cellar full of it. A+++
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 11 for El Campeador Reserva 2008
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Granty2000
, Loughborough
(July 26, 2013)
Great with Spaghetti!
We had this last night. Decanted for 2 hours and then enjoyed with Spaghetti Bolognaise. Perfect!
Review 12 for El Campeador Reserva 2008
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grumps
, Kettering
(April 19, 2013)
Perfectly named The Champion
This certainly gives "Full Fifteen " a run for its money .A Wonderful fruity mouthful with a new world sweet finish.Eat with hearty food or just "DRINK IT" Wonderful stuff .Does anybody know how I can keep my wife away from it ?
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for El Campeador Reserva 2008
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 3