Product Reviews

Laithwaites Wine Château Le Coin Bordeaux 2010

This is the third vintage we've worked with Ludovic Roussillon at Château le Coin, helping him to make modern, fruit rich clarets exclusively for our customers. The soils on his immaculately tended estate in the Entre Deux Mers are pure limestone and very rocky, so the vines are kept well drained and grapes are very concentrated.Ludovic is very open to new ideas, and our own Bordeaux specialist Jean-Marc Sauboua helped him get the most from his grapes in the "once in a lifetime" 2010 vintage (Neal Martin). Both are justly proud of the wine's Gold medal winning success. Made mostly from Merlot with just a touch of both Cabernets, Château Le Coin makes a perfect partner for your Sunday roast and is delicious, too, with venison sausages.
Average Customer Rating:
2.864 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
7
11 out of 21(52%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Château Le Coin Bordeaux 2010
Review 1 for Château Le Coin Bordeaux 2010
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jintys2
, Stockport
(April 6, 2014)
disappointed
I had high expectations from this wine, as I have previously bought Le coin before,however this 2010 vintage is disappointing.
The label states,decant for an hour before drinking.I opened,sampled,and it had a lot of tannins and a strange aftertaste,which I did not like..so I decanted it,sampled each hour for 3 hours,and it had risen in temperature,the tannins had lessened,but the strange aftertaste was still present.The wine had mellowed,and was smoother and better at around 15/16 degrees.I can usually drink a bottle of wine,if I like it,in around 3 hours,this took almost 6 to consume,and was not an enjoyable experience...
I am afraid I would not recommend this wine.
Response from Laithwaite's Wine:By LauraCSSApril 9, 2014
I am sorry to hear that you have not enjoyed the Chateau Le Coin. I have sent you an e-mail and I hope that you are happy with my response. If you require any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact us.
Review 2 for Château Le Coin Bordeaux 2010
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Josacalemric
, East Sussex
(March 15, 2014)
Recent purchase
As I was not supplied with bottles of 'The Waxed Bat' I had extra bottles of this wine which I found somewhat acidic and not really to my taste.
Review 3 for Château Le Coin Bordeaux 2010
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HimFromTheMill
, Standon, Hertfordshire
(February 21, 2014)
Such a lovely wine
This wine has all the character and style of a decent Bordeaux. It is at a very fair price for the quality. We have a home in France, between the Dordogne and Lot rivers, in the Department of the Lot, about 90 miles from the vineyard, however, when we're in England we buy this wine from Laithwaites! Great stuff - and delivered promptly to your door
Review 4 for Château Le Coin Bordeaux 2010
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
William00
, Reading
(February 5, 2014)
Not my idea of a good claret
I didn't like this at all. Bitter on the finish and not really very nice at all. I'd rather spend my money on other efforts.
Review 5 for Château Le Coin Bordeaux 2010
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ambrosia
, London
(January 21, 2014)
Good young Bordeaux
Juicy and fresh - this is full of attractive plummy fruit, and is a great young Bordeaux at the price
Review 6 for Château Le Coin Bordeaux 2010
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MichaelTerminate
, Sutton Coldfield
(November 24, 2013)
EXCELLANT WINE
Thought I had to write a review for this wine due to its poor rating. I found it an extremely pleasant claret. Full of flavour and full bodied which you would expect of a 14.5 vol wine. Went really well with beef and cheese and also found it great to drink on its own. Perhaps I was lucky, but well worth 5 stars for its price range.
Review 7 for Château Le Coin Bordeaux 2010
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Redspidermike
, Cambridgeshire
(November 14, 2013)
A Fussy Wine
This wine need to be served at the right temperature and should be aired. When this is done it is quite drinkable. Otherwise very ordinary, too heavy with a whiff of alcohol. Medium tannins.
Review 8 for Château Le Coin Bordeaux 2010
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
henners
, Gloucester
(November 13, 2013)
Average
Had a couple of bottles now, not my favourite but not bad. Heavy flavours make it hard to judge, but good length on him as well as being really with roast and beef gravy!
Review 9 for Château Le Coin Bordeaux 2010
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Geordiefinewine1
, Newcastle
(October 4, 2013)
NO! NO! NO!
No! It is harsh, sharp, bitter, and in no way delicious
No! Decanting made no significant difference
No! Out of 6 guests: nil points wine tasting. Avoid.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Response from Laithwaite's Wine:By Christine BradeCustomer Service AdvisorOctober 15, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy this wine. We do have our 100% guarantee, so if you wish to discuss this further please call us.
Review 10 for Château Le Coin Bordeaux 2010
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
FarFlung
, London
(May 15, 2013)
Disappointed
We were disappointed by this one - we normally love claret, but this didn't wear its strength well. Harsh and overwhelming.
Response from Laithwaite's Wine:By MattCSSMay 18, 2013
I am sorry to hear that you have not enjoyed the Château Le Coin. I have sent you an e-mail and I hope that you are happy with my response. If you require any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact us.
Review 11 for Château Le Coin Bordeaux 2010
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
John63
, Bristol
(April 3, 2013)
Good claret
A good claret, strong but easy to drink. Plenty of dark fruit flavour. According to the label it's even better if you keep it for a while.
Review 12 for Château Le Coin Bordeaux 2010
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MalbecMonster
, Inverurie
(November 24, 2012)
Not for me.
Opened first bottle of this from 4Seasons selection with wife and a friend and have to say we were all quite dissapointed. Not enough fruity flavour and tannins too sharp. Other bottle will either go into a stew or a raffle.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 13 for Château Le Coin Bordeaux 2010
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
twigs
, Upminster
(September 13, 2012)
Not bad
Not a bad red a little rough around the edges perhaps. Good fruit flavour though.
Review 14 for Château Le Coin Bordeaux 2010
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
HotShot
, Dorset
(August 21, 2012)
A Great Disappointment
Until two bottles of this wine were received in the Spring delivery, we have had nothing but good to excellent choices. Unfortunately, these were at the other extreme. For both botles the poured wine was cloudy, there was a very fine sediment around the cork and it certainly didn't taste fruity! We would advise anyone to steer clear.
Response from Laithwaite's Wine:By Rob ClyneCSSSeptember 5, 2012
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the wine, I see that you have spoke to us regarding this matter and I hope the matter has been resolved for you. If we require any further assistance we are always happy to help.
Review 15 for Château Le Coin Bordeaux 2010
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
KevnViv
, Darlington
(July 2, 2012)
A pleasant surprise
Took a case of 2010. Tried it after about a weeks rest from travel and thought it had promise, good finish and full of fruit. Tried a second bottle a week later and decided to order another case as it should keep a year or two.
Review 16 for Château Le Coin Bordeaux 2010
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Manny
, Sunderland
(July 2, 2012)
Well worth it at this price
At £8 for a Bordeaux like this, I'm not complaining. If anything, a bit rough round the edges, but I suspect it will be worth hanging onto a couple of bottles for a year or two and seeing how it develops. But pretty good stuff even now.
Review 17 for Château Le Coin Bordeaux 2010
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
vickycarl
, horsham
(June 30, 2012)
le coin 2009
we bought two cases of 2009 and disliked it so much that after the first two bottles, thought to send it to London with the student daughters but regrettably they kept forgetting it. we could not be bothered to send this back and persevered. every bottle bar one has been FRUITLESS, flat and a dull disappointment. we are down to our last 6 bottles and offer it up for free to anyone that can be bothered to come and get it.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Château Le Coin Bordeaux 2010
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pinny
, North East
(August 13, 2012)
Good and bad
We had two bottles of this in our case. One was perfectly fine but the other tasted pretty awful and we ended up throwing it down the sink. The cork smelt and looked fine (although I'm no expert) and both bottles were stored in exactly the same way so it's a mystery!
Response from Laithwaite's Wine:By Rob ClyneCSSSeptember 5, 2012
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the wine, if you can email your customer number to online.support@laithwaites.co.uk and we can resolve the matter for you
Review 19 for Château Le Coin Bordeaux 2010
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
haricat
, Scotland
(June 19, 2012)
I was maybe unfortunate
I had this wine in my quarterly case ,found it really disappointing I was perhaps unfortunate in that the wine was full of sediment &unpleasant . I therefore could not recommend it to anyone .
I see by previous reviews it was gven 5 stars ?? the only wine I have been disappointed in in many years dealing with Laithwaites.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Château Le Coin Bordeaux 2010
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HappyDaze
, Midlands
(December 28, 2011)
Good flavoursome stuff
Have never bothered to leave a review before, but this claret is seriously good. Opens up pretty quickly and has a lot of flavour.
1 2 next>>