Product Reviews

Laithwaites Wine Château Le Coin Bordeaux 2010

This is the third vintage we've worked with Ludovic Roussillon at Château le Coin, helping him to make modern, fruit rich clarets exclusively for our customers. The soils on his immaculately tended estate in the Entre Deux Mers are pure limestone and very rocky, so the vines are kept well drained and grapes are very concentrated.Ludovic is very open to new ideas, and our own Bordeaux specialist Jean-Marc Sauboua helped him get the most from his grapes in the "once in a lifetime" 2010 vintage (Neal Martin). Both are justly proud of the wine's Gold medal winning success. Made mostly from Merlot with just a touch of both Cabernets, Château Le Coin makes a perfect partner for your Sunday roast and is delicious, too, with venison sausages.
Average Customer Rating:
2.743 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
12
15 out of 34(44%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Château Le Coin Bordeaux 2010
Review 1 for Château Le Coin Bordeaux 2010
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Guywlw
, Gloucester
(October 17, 2014)
Buy the 2010 while you can
Tastes like a more expensive wine - deep colour, structured, long length. It delivers! I particulaly liked the 2010.
Review 2 for Château Le Coin Bordeaux 2010
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous
, Cardiff
(November 18, 2014)
Nothing special
Wasn't a big fan of this. Really lacking in anything exciting, just found it a bit dull. May better with age but there are definitely better out there for the price.
Response from Laithwaite's Wine:By SarahCustomer ServiceNovember 18, 2014
I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy this wine. I have responded via email to your review. i hope the action taken is acceptable.
Review 3 for Château Le Coin Bordeaux 2010
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Brad2523
, Cambridge
(September 17, 2014)
Too young
See: lovely deep colour.
Smell: brambles and fruit, possibly a hint of vanilla?
(So far so good!)
Taste: flat, very simple and uninteresting. Nothing unpleasant (if you don't mind a tannic edge) just a tad boring.
Possibly one for the cellar - I like to drink my wine, not look at it in a rack so think I'd pass on this as I have no patience to age it. Shame.
Response from Laithwaite's Wine:By SarahCustomer ServiceSeptember 20, 2014
I'm sorry to hear that this wine was not to your taste. I have responded via email to your review. I do hope you are enjoying the rest of your order.
Review 4 for Château Le Coin Bordeaux 2010
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
fusspot
, west of scotland
(August 16, 2014)
disappointing
I didn't enjoy this wine at all - could only drink one glass. What will I do with the second bottle? I don't think I could even give it to someone for a present.
Response from Laithwaite's Wine:By SarahCustomer ServicesAugust 18, 2014
I'm sorry to hear you did not enjoy this wine. I'm have responded via email in regards to this review. I do hope you are enjoying the rest of the wines you have received from us.
Review 5 for Château Le Coin Bordeaux 2010
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lindoak
, Ascot
(August 12, 2014)
Fab-u-lous
Absolute stunner - buy soon and enjoy good depth, smooth but not heavy texture - all time favourite.
Review 6 for Château Le Coin Bordeaux 2010
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buckwheat
, UK
(July 18, 2014)
Rather dull.
Fat and surprisingly dull, given the hype. Dark, plummy fat fruit certainly and a definite smoothness, but weak, unsatisfying tannins lead to a disappointing finish. I drank the second bottle a week later and had an identical experience.
For me, the best clarets are about earth and there's no hint of earthiness in this wine. I appreciate it's a right bank wine but still, I was hoping for at least a tiny hint of cigar box/ smoke/tobacco. The only right bank characteristic I detected was a pleasant silkiness. I understand how delectable St Emillion area wines can be, but too often the Merlot can be just too fleshy & soft.
The lack of acidity and tannin almost belies the 14.5% alcohol content - certainly something worth remembering if you plan to drink it in one go or follow on with more wine, because at this strength it has the potential to induce next-day grogginess.
Wanted to be pleasantly surprised by this wine but sadly found it rather forgettable. But for £8.99, who cares.
Response from Laithwaite's Wine:By KateCustomer Service SupportJuly 22, 2014
We appreciate your comments and we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy this wine. I have sent you an e-mail regarding this issue, which I hope that you find to be a satisfactory resolution.
Review 7 for Château Le Coin Bordeaux 2010
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jowolf
, Cheshire
(July 14, 2014)
Disappointing +++
Very disappointing and unenjoyable drink. Ended up in the following evenings dinner which was the best place for it!
Response from Laithwaite's Wine:By SophieCustomer ServiceJuly 16, 2014
I'm sorry you didn't enjoy The Chateau Le Coin. I've just sent you an e-mail regarding this, hope this is all ok.
Review 8 for Château Le Coin Bordeaux 2010
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
scout
, nottingham
(May 31, 2014)
massive disappointment
very chalky - unpleasant in the mouth - will not be drinking the second bottle
Response from Laithwaite's Wine:By Matthew YoungCustomer Service SupportJune 1, 2014
We appreciate your comments and we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the Château Le Coin 2012. I have sent you an e-mail regarding this issue, which I hope that you find to be a satisfactory resolution.
Review 9 for Château Le Coin Bordeaux 2010
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jintys2
, Stockport
(April 6, 2014)
disappointed
I had high expectations from this wine, as I have previously bought Le coin before,however this 2010 vintage is disappointing.
The label states,decant for an hour before drinking.I opened,sampled,and it had a lot of tannins and a strange aftertaste,which I did not like..so I decanted it,sampled each hour for 3 hours,and it had risen in temperature,the tannins had lessened,but the strange aftertaste was still present.The wine had mellowed,and was smoother and better at around 15/16 degrees.I can usually drink a bottle of wine,if I like it,in around 3 hours,this took almost 6 to consume,and was not an enjoyable experience...
I am afraid I would not recommend this wine.
Response from Laithwaite's Wine:By LauraCSSApril 9, 2014
I am sorry to hear that you have not enjoyed the Chateau Le Coin. I have sent you an e-mail and I hope that you are happy with my response. If you require any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact us.
Review 10 for Château Le Coin Bordeaux 2010
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
chateauneuf
, east of england
(May 18, 2014)
le coin waste of time.
recently tried 2 bottles .much too strong. .bitter.
did all the usual things decant ,wait, drink with a good meal.temp etc. disaster... friends said tastes awful,leaves taste in mouth and they did not drink it. maybe best to keep for 10 years. (but i would not buy again)
what happened to the 12.5 wines from your wine cellar ?
Response from Laithwaite's Wine:By Matthew YoungCustomer Service SupportMay 19, 2014
We appreciate your comments and we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the Château Le Coin 2011. I have sent you an e-mail regarding this issue, which I hope that you find to be a satisfactory resolution.
Review 11 for Château Le Coin Bordeaux 2010
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MichaelTerminate
, Sutton Coldfield
(April 26, 2014)
EXCELLANT CLARET
I found this to be a very pleasant claret and would certainly buy again. Opened and decanted, as recommended, and left to stand for a couple of hours. Went down really well with beef followed by cheese and biscuits. A very good buy for the price.
Review 12 for Château Le Coin Bordeaux 2010
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Molineux
, London
(April 18, 2014)
Very strange wine...
I opened this wine to have with cheese and found it to be acidic and unpalatable. At £9.99 a bottle there are far better deals to be had within Laithwaite's. I could drink only a tiny bit of it. Very disappointing.
Response from Laithwaite's Wine:By SophieCustomer ServiceApril 22, 2014
I am sorry to hear that you have not enjoyed this bottle. I have just sent you an email and I hope you are happy with my response.
Review 13 for Château Le Coin Bordeaux 2010
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Josacalemric
, East Sussex
(March 15, 2014)
Recent purchase
As I was not supplied with bottles of 'The Waxed Bat' I had extra bottles of this wine which I found somewhat acidic and not really to my taste.
Review 14 for Château Le Coin Bordeaux 2010
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HimFromTheMill
, Standon, Hertfordshire
(February 21, 2014)
Such a lovely wine
This wine has all the character and style of a decent Bordeaux. It is at a very fair price for the quality. We have a home in France, between the Dordogne and Lot rivers, in the Department of the Lot, about 90 miles from the vineyard, however, when we're in England we buy this wine from Laithwaites! Great stuff - and delivered promptly to your door
Review 15 for Château Le Coin Bordeaux 2010
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
William00
, Reading
(February 5, 2014)
Not my idea of a good claret
I didn't like this at all. Bitter on the finish and not really very nice at all. I'd rather spend my money on other efforts.
Review 16 for Château Le Coin Bordeaux 2010
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ambrosia
, London
(January 21, 2014)
Good young Bordeaux
Juicy and fresh - this is full of attractive plummy fruit, and is a great young Bordeaux at the price
Review 17 for Château Le Coin Bordeaux 2010
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MichaelTerminate
, Sutton Coldfield
(November 24, 2013)
EXCELLANT WINE
Thought I had to write a review for this wine due to its poor rating. I found it an extremely pleasant claret. Full of flavour and full bodied which you would expect of a 14.5 vol wine. Went really well with beef and cheese and also found it great to drink on its own. Perhaps I was lucky, but well worth 5 stars for its price range.
Review 18 for Château Le Coin Bordeaux 2010
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Redspidermike
, Cambridgeshire
(November 14, 2013)
A Fussy Wine
This wine need to be served at the right temperature and should be aired. When this is done it is quite drinkable. Otherwise very ordinary, too heavy with a whiff of alcohol. Medium tannins.
Review 19 for Château Le Coin Bordeaux 2010
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
henners
, Gloucester
(November 13, 2013)
Average
Had a couple of bottles now, not my favourite but not bad. Heavy flavours make it hard to judge, but good length on him as well as being really with roast and beef gravy!
Review 20 for Château Le Coin Bordeaux 2010
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Geordiefinewine1
, Newcastle
(October 4, 2013)
NO! NO! NO!
No! It is harsh, sharp, bitter, and in no way delicious
No! Decanting made no significant difference
No! Out of 6 guests: nil points wine tasting. Avoid.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Response from Laithwaite's Wine:By Christine BradeCustomer Service AdvisorOctober 15, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy this wine. We do have our 100% guarantee, so if you wish to discuss this further please call us.
1 2 next>>