Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Laithwaites Wine Antica Vigna, Masseria Biscardo 2008

This full-bodied red was made on a single estate in the southern part of Puglia, at a winery owned by the acclaimed Biscardo and Rizzello families. Talented winemaker Giuseppe Caragnulo combined native grapes - fruity Lambrusco and dark, earthy Negroamaro - to create a rich, characterful wine, adding a portion of Aglianico for extra depth. The grapes were sourced from 50-year-old bush vines that produce really concentrated fruit, and to extract as much flavour as possible they were crushed with mechanical 'feet' - mimicking the age-old practice of treading the grapes. The result is a chunky, richly flavoured wine best served alongside hearty food - lamb casserole, game pie and other rich meat dishes, or a hard cheese like Parmesan.
Average Customer Rating:
4.654 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
26 out of 26(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Antica Vigna, Masseria Biscardo 2008
Review 1 for Antica Vigna, Masseria Biscardo 2008
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
JamesB
, York
(July 28, 2011)
Pleasant enough, but over rated?
Wall to wall 5 star ratings seems a little generous. This is a powerful Italian red with full peppery fruit and loads, and loads of alcohol. A really pleasant wine, if not the most sophisticated. All good fun and great at parties - think more Grace Jones than Grace Kelly
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Antica Vigna, Masseria Biscardo 2008
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Madaboutbubbly
, Co. Antrim
(April 18, 2012)
Just misses the mark.
I agree completely with the review by "5 CentCigar", in that I found this wine a little disappointing. It has a lovely spicy red fruit aroma, and some what bitter dark cherry flavours. The texture is surprisingly thin for its alcohol level, with soft, smooth tannins. But like the aforementioned reviewer, I found it pretty one dimensional. It is one of those wines, that you feel is just missing that element, which would make it really good.
However it is certainly not an unpleasant wine to drink, and I would not be afraid to try the next vintage.
Review 3 for Antica Vigna, Masseria Biscardo 2008
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sasp
, UK
(February 14, 2012)
Style AND substance
Eyes: Whilst we have a deep ruby, almost opaque, 15% in the glass, for once the most striking thing is the label, which is a design classic.
Nose: Really fruity, with more black cherries than a black forest gateaux. Spicy, herby, pepperiness at the end.
Mouth: Surprisingly smooth for such a big red. These old vines have given us bucketfuls of flavour in each glass. It is warming, jammy and tanniny.
Food: Brilliant food match. For any wine like this, the obvious mate is macho meat. But for a change, I paired it with pumpkin pasta and it perfectly complemented the herb butter, yet was robust enough to stand up to a side of really garlicky bruschetta.
Brain: This is the sort of bottle that might charm me away from my Claret comfort zone. Great with food. Generously priced for a bottle of this calibre. A perfect present for picky people, though you won't want to give it away and they won't know whether to drink it or to frame it.
Review 4 for Antica Vigna, Masseria Biscardo 2008
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stevie
, Cheshire
(February 15, 2011)
Puglia Treacle Factory breaks into Wine market
Not often, and I must say 'not often enough', do I taste a wine that blows me away so thoroughly and quickly. This is one!
The master is at work. He dips his quill into the ink and draws masterful ideas, weird helicopters, divine studies of man’s body parts, arms, muscles and birds wings. Turning to the left he admires his part finished smiling lady "La Gioconda" and wonders when he will finish this loving image. He turns to dip his quill again and realises he's been using his wine glass as ink..... Antigna Vigna, Masseria Biscardo 1503. What the heck, he says to himself, dark as ink and it writes well!
This is ‘Boys from the Black Stuff red’. Stomping full of damson jam, plums, tobacco, liquorice and treacle (the Black Treacle – hard core treacle). Whhhhoooooohoooooo!
I love Italy and we try to go each year to different parts and Puglia is high on our next ‘to do’ destination. For those who don’t know much about Italian wines get yourself a couple of test wines like this one to really appreciate the phenomenal history of Italy and wine. I can also recommend a good Italian Amarone wine [where they late season pick and leave the grapes on wooden racks to dry out and then process them. This reduces the yield but concentrates the flavours. I’ve seen Amarone wines at an Enotecha (wine shop – Italian style) in Tuscany at 17% alcohol!] or even a Morrellino di Scansano red which takes some beating. Or, try some of Tony Laithwaites Villa Quinziana for a test – not full bodied but a heck of a nice wine).
For the winies.....Damsons and tobacco on the nose and an oak casket smell. Cherries (Maraschino ones) , Plums, Prunes, Redcurrants, Blackcurrants and chewy chewy chewy on the palate. And mint on the not long but really nice finish.
Gorgeous – absolutely brimful of gorgeous.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Antica Vigna, Masseria Biscardo 2008
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
5CentCigar
, Stoke
(March 6, 2012)
Antica - Climax
Maybe it's because of all the rave reviews, but I was a little bit disappointed with this wine.
It's a lovely big glass of cherry/damson fruit and a nice warming wine. But I was waiting for it to absolutely blow me away, and it didn't really happen.
Not as "big" as say The Full Fifteen, and in my opinion, without the depth of flavour of say a Pillastro or Villa Quinziano. It was a little bit one dimensional. Maybe I prefer more beefy Negroamoro, and less of a blend.
Nice, but don't expect too much.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Antica Vigna, Masseria Biscardo 2008
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gardengirl
, worcestershire
(April 9, 2012)
Loved it!
I thought this was an excellent bottle of wine. It was full bodied, wonderfully smooth, and made very easy drinking on it's own or with food-I had it with roast lamb. Certainly worth the money-I would buy again without hesitation.
Review 7 for Antica Vigna, Masseria Biscardo 2008
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ugg73
, Darlington
(September 21, 2011)
What a delight!!
We have tried Puglia wines before but nothing compares to this. Smooth, complex and bursting with fruit - I loved it!! Would defo consider a case. Happy Times!
Review 8 for Antica Vigna, Masseria Biscardo 2008
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ugg73
, Darlington
(September 14, 2011)
Loved it
What a wonderfully full-bodied Italian red! So pleased I had the opportunity to try this delight - I will look to make a big order! Had this with a lovely rich bolognese which was a perfect match .......a must in my wine rack!
Review 9 for Antica Vigna, Masseria Biscardo 2008
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cacti
, Hereford
(March 7, 2012)
Fantastic
I got this wine in a Southern Itallian mixed case which meant it came alongside some pretty 'Big' wines.
With a 15% alcohol content I was expecting a rustic style that had a 'Big' taste that would have to be tempered with food, but I'm extremely happy to report that it is also highly enjoyable on it's own.
A real winner for me and I will certainly be buying more.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 10 for Antica Vigna, Masseria Biscardo 2008
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Manny
, Sunderland
(February 20, 2012)
Buy this. Lots of it. Then buy more...
In fact no, don't. I want it all!
It really is that good, and I can't think of anything from Laithwaites that I've enjoyed more. Never have I written a review before in over 2 years of buying their wine (It's surprising how much wine that can be, actually), but this, I knew, just had to be my first. No matter how bad a day I've had, 30 quiet minutes and a large glass of this, and the rigours and miseries of life outside my living room cease to exist. It has a complexity that keeps giving, and you notice something different with every mouthful; black fruits, bittersweet chocolate, a long mellow finish, but the best part is the knowledge that, once the bottle is gone, there are 11 more in the cupboard...
Review 11 for Antica Vigna, Masseria Biscardo 2008
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bartes
, Bolton
(September 23, 2011)
mmmmm.... deep..
as it says.. liquorice, chocolate, coffee... just drink it and the flavour keeps coming..
I'm used to Italian wines being easy, quaffable, soft etc. .. but this keeps on giving with flavour and depth... lovely!.. more please...
Review 12 for Antica Vigna, Masseria Biscardo 2008
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BaldEagle
, Northumberland
(March 17, 2011)
A fine wine
One wonders if, at 15%vol, the alcohol content will dampen flavours, but no worries with this one. Tasted beautifully with roast lamb, rich damsons and gentle tannins made for a fruity long lasting finish.
Review 13 for Antica Vigna, Masseria Biscardo 2008
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WineRack
, North West England
(February 20, 2012)
Gorgeous
Thick, sweet and mouth-filling. Very strong - you certainly knew you were drinking a 15% wine! Delicious, a worthy gold-medal winner.
Review 14 for Antica Vigna, Masseria Biscardo 2008
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bobo
, Scotland
(October 7, 2011)
Even better when free
Got this as a free bottle in a case. What a fantastic surprise. It was lovely. I am definitely going to buy some.
Review 15 for Antica Vigna, Masseria Biscardo 2008
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BaladSinger
, Biddulph
(December 5, 2010)
Quite Simply a Joy to Have In Your Mouth
I took a chance on this one when a good friend popped over on a Friday evening for a couple of relaxing reds after a hard week. What a wonderful surprise it was. I don't remember ever having tried an Italian wine before as I usually go straight for Aussie reds. Boy am I glad I took up the wine discovery deal from Laithwaites. Havn't had a bad bottle yet and this one was great!
Review 16 for Antica Vigna, Masseria Biscardo 2008
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oz1james0
, Ayrshire
(October 13, 2010)
Velvety smooth red
Having been enjoying laithwaites wines over a period of time I was delighted when I discovered this one. like the label my face was smiling when I enjoyed slurping this velvety smooth red with intense fruit its a joy to enjoy on your own or with special friends! Viva Italia.
Review 17 for Antica Vigna, Masseria Biscardo 2008
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bantu
, Prestonpans
(December 31, 2011)
Fantastic!
You have everything you expect from the big wines. Great for red meats and Italian dishes, but very good to drink on its own. I left one bottle on New Year's Eve to celebrate the New Year. I recommend to all red wine lovers .
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 18 for Antica Vigna, Masseria Biscardo 2008
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VonStrop
, Boston, Lincs
(December 11, 2011)
Excellent Italian Wine
Never had a bad bottle over several years. Wonderful with food & on its own. Smooth & full tasting, excellent on the palate. My only surprise was that the 2008 Vintage, which was also Excellant (9 out of 10), and @ 15%, had a "Drink by End 2011", seems like a mistake from the Wine Advisors?
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Antica Vigna, Masseria Biscardo 2008
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vinophile
, Bristol
(October 28, 2011)
Wine with character
An excellent, full bodied but beautifully balanced wine with surprising complexity for its price range.
Versatile and delicious, I have already ordered more, and it could easily become my default " house wine " for almost any occasion.
Review 20 for Antica Vigna, Masseria Biscardo 2008
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bevers
, Glasgow
(September 30, 2011)
Nicest Wine Ever
This wine is perfect with any meal or on its own! Fantastic..
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>